Grand Finals 2014

Last week saw Million Dollar Hole in One returning to Las Vegas for the annual final of the $1,000,000 challenge. This years’ winners were greeted at the welcome party on Wednesday 18thJune by MDHIO senior management Patrick O’Doherty and Martin Tyrrell. This year we welcomed winners from a number of European countries:- Jochen Schmitt (Germany), Jan Dysuik (Finland) Stuart Mulholland (N Ireland), John Mackay (England), Lloyd Davies (England) and Terry Wood (England) respectively.

The welcome party was an informal event over brunch where all winners, partners and guests were suitably fed and watered, introduced to each other and the itinerary was presented for the duration of the winners stay in Las Vegas. The choice of hotel was the fabulous Wynn which is probably the best hotel in Las Vegas and offers everything anyone could want for a luxurious break.

Thursday 19thwas the day of the final and all travelled to Royal Links Golf Course which is modelled on 18 famous holes from courses around the world. Before the winners had their opportunity for the million dollar prize, they enjoyed 18 holes around this stunning course with a backdrop of the mountains and Las Vegas. The 18 holes were played as a stableford competition which was won by John Mackay’s wife Monique who will be receiving American Golf Gift Vouchers for her effort. Also during the round there was longest drive which was won by Jochen Schmitt and nearest the pin which was won by Stuart Mulholland. The staff at the course led by Chuck Bombard hosted us in Royal fashion and nothing was too much trouble.

Once the winners had a little break and watched the end of the England v Uruguay game which wasn’t enjoyable for most, the winners travelled at to the 8thto take their shot at the opportunity to win $1,000,000 US. The Pressure was mounting as final preparations were completed, rules being explained, videographer setting up, PGA Pro acting as a witness and all the partners and guests taking their positions green side to cheer the winners on. The order for hitting shots was Lloyd Davies, Jan Dysuik, John Mackay, Stuart Mulholland, Jochen Schmitt and finally Terry Wood. All the guys hit admirable shots but alas, no Million Dollar Winner this year. What a great trip however for a €10 entry fee!!

In the evening MDHIO hosted a gala dinner at the aptly named Sinatra Restaurant in the Wynn where all enjoyed a sumptuous feast of great food and wine. It was left to Patrick O’Doherty to thank all the winners and guests for travelling to the US, for their great company and to wish all a safe and pleasant journey home.

All winners past and present are invited to take part in the 2015 shoot out at Vale de Lobo in the Algarve. This will be the first time that the event has been hosted in Europe and it promises to be an unforgettable experience. The event will return to Las Vegas in 2016.